Workshop Topic The workshop is devoted to psychologically-motivated computational models of language acquisition. That is, models that are compatible with research in psycholinguistics, developmental psychology and linguistics.

Invited Speakers:

  • Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp and Tilburg University
  • Elan Dresher, University of Toronto
  • Jerome A. Feldman, University of California at Berkeley
  • Charles D. Yang, Yale University

Workshop Description
How children acquire the grammar of their native language(s) is one of the most beguiling open questions of modern science. The principal goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers from diverse backgrounds who are interested in the study of human language acquisition from a computational perspective. Cross-discipline discussion will be encouraged. Presented research draws computational linguistics, formal learning theory, machine learning, artificial intelligence, linguistics, cognitive psychology and psycholinguistics.

Psycho-computational models of language acquisition are of particular interest in light of recent results in developmental psychology which suggest that very young infants are adept at detecting statistical patterns in an audible input stream. This begs the question, to what extent can a psychologically plausible statistical learning strategy be successfully exploited in a "full-blown" psycho-computational acquisition model?

Workshop Organizer

  • William Gregory Sakas, City University of New York

Program Committee

  • Robert Berwick, MIT, USA
  • Antal van den Bosch, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
  • Ted Briscoe, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Damir Cavar, Indiana University, USA
  • Morten H. Christiansen, Cornell University, USA
  • Stephen Clark, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • James Cussens, University of York, UK
  • Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp, Belgium and Tilburg University, The Netherlands
  • Jeffrey Elman, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Gerard Kempen, Leiden University, The Netherlands and The Max Planck Institute, Nijmegen
  • Vincenzo Lombardo, University of Torino, Italy
  • Larry Moss, University of Indiana, USA
  • Miles Osborne, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Dan Roth, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Ivan Sag, Stanford University, USA
  • Jeffrey Siskind, Purdue University, USA
  • Mark Steedman, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Menno van Zaanen, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
  • Charles Yang, Yale University, USA

Contact or